When you suffer injuries in an auto accident that is not your fault, you may face medical, emotional, and financial issues. A personal injury claim can help you get the compensation you rightfully deserve.
In order to get the most out of your claim, it is important that you understand what it all entails, especially the laws in Colorado. There is key legislation that may affect your case.
Comparative negligence, or comparative fault, is the amount of fault a victim holds in an accident. Many times in an accident, both parties contribute to its occurrence. This law states that the claimant’s award amount will include a reduction of their percentage of fault for the incident. For example, if the court finds the accident to be 25 percent the claimant’s fault, the claimant would receive 75 percent of the full award amount. For more details and clarity, it might be beneficial to review Colorado’s comparative negligence law. Also, individuals should consider how they could prove they contributed minimally to the accident so they may receive the bulk of the award if not the full amount.
Statute of limitations
The statute of limitations for an auto accident is usually three years in Colorado. This time period takes into consideration that some injuries may take a while to surface, so those individuals who have delayed effects may still seek just reciprocity. However, there are some exceptions to this rule. For example, if the accident involves a government vehicle, the timeframe may be shorter. In such instances, individuals should consider speaking to an attorney as soon as possible to learn all of the facts and to weigh their options.
This is a simple overview of the laws involved in an auto accident. If you or a loved one are considering filing a claim, make sure you fully understand the law and the claims process. That way, you can make the best decision and hopefully reach the outcome you seek.