If you want to stay on the right side of the law, it is necessary to know the law. However, the fact that laws frequently change and new laws come into effect can make it difficult to stay up to date. For example, there are multiple new laws in Colorado as of Jan. 1, 2019.
These new statutes and policies cover a wide range of subjects, from beer sales to driver’s licenses for immigrants. Here is what you should know about the new Colorado laws.
Colorado convenience and grocery stores no longer need to adhere to strict limitations for selling beer. Thanks to Senate Bill 197, the classification of “fermented malt beverages” now includes beer that contains 3.2 percent alcohol or more.
However, this law also comes with some new rules for stores that sell beer. For example, any store that sells beer needs to be located 500 feet or more from any school. Employees must also be age 18 or older to sell beer. And while you may be able to get a stronger beer at grocery and convenience stores, you still have to go to a liquor store if you want wine or liquor.
Immigrant driver’s licenses
Undocumented immigrants no longer need to rely on Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers as proof of identity to the DMV. Now, residents who cannot provide evidence of being lawfully in the United States can use Social Security numbers to obtain licenses, permits, and identification cards.
Minimum wage increase
Low-wage workers in Colorado must now receive 90 cents more per hour. The wage hike brings the minimum hourly rate up to $11.10 from $10.20. This is part of a law that increases the minimum wage to $12 by 2020. After 2020, the minimum wage will continue to increase according to adjustments in the cost of living.
Colorado State Park fees
If you visit Colorado State Parks, you will pay more than before. All daily passes are $1 more expensive and annual passes have a $10 increase.